Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Folks,

I'm on vacation in NC without my bike (I know what was I thinking). I'm in Chapel Hill for a few days and am wondering if Pisgah has enough beautiful mixed use trails(or hiking specific trails) to warrant driving from Chapel Hill. I live and ride on Vancouver Island, so I enjoy beautiful trails. Anything with good views, waterfalls? I figured the riding community would be the ones to turn to since we're all forest lovers in one way or another.

So what's the word. Worth the drive? Hike when I get back to BC instead? Anything closer to here. Thanks for any feedback

Woody

·
white boy extraordinaire
241 Posts
I'm by no means an expert...

Pisgah has a lot of hiking that can be quite rewarding. Now, that being said, "rewarding" is purely a subjective term and my version might not hold up to your version and therefore the hiking might not warrant a drive from Chapel Hill ESPECIALLY if you're from BC.

So, I like Looking Glass rock, it's nice, excellent views and some lush forest in the beginning. There is a nice loop at Black Balsam/Tenet Mtn that displays an uncommon environment in this area. John's rock is short and sweet. Cold Mountain to shining rock loop is quite nice. The first ones I mentioned are relatively easy to get to. Cold mountain is a longer drive. You can also get to Mount Sterling in the Smokies about as easily as you can these areas. This will give you some old growth forest (its big for us southerners) and a less hiked area of the smokies from an easily accessible trailhead from I-40.

Hope this helps, you can always email directly @ [email protected].

CMW

·
Registered
3,337 Posts