Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a set of 2007 Formula Oro Puro brakes. I am running goodridge lines with an 8 inch rotor up front and a 6 inch in back, currently using Dot4 brake fluid. I have them mounted to my Ibis Mogo. When I first got them they were INCREDIBLY LOUD, I couldn't take it, even after bedding them in and 50 miles of riding. The power was also not quite there. I've never used a set before but, everybody I've talked to and read about says good power. I switched to organic pads and they cracked...the rear ones also have that brake fade smell. The rear brake lever has a very mushy feeling compared to the front. Anybody have any ideas or suggestions. I would really appreciate some help with this. Thanks in advance!!!!

·
Super Moderator
20,810 Posts
The mushy feeling is definitely a bad bleed..... if your LBS did the goodridge install, ask them to recheck that brake... about the sound check that your pads are not contaminated and/or try to recenter the calipers...

G

·
woogie11 said:
I have a set of 2007 Formula Oro Puro brakes. I am running goodridge lines with an 8 inch rotor up front and a 6 inch in back, currently using Dot4 brake fluid. I have them mounted to my Ibis Mogo. When I first got them they were INCREDIBLY LOUD, I couldn't take it, even after bedding them in and 50 miles of riding. The power was also not quite there. I've never used a set before but, everybody I've talked to and read about says good power. I switched to organic pads and they cracked...the rear ones also have that brake fade smell. The rear brake lever has a very mushy feeling compared to the front. Anybody have any ideas or suggestions. I would really appreciate some help with this. Thanks in advance!!!!
Hi -

If the Oro with a 200mm rotor doesn't seem strong, there's most definately something wrong!