Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just getting into trail riding and coming off an old school bike onto a new one. Bar width on the new bikes ive been looking at varies from 680 to 780mm. Is it just personal preference or are different widths better for different types of riding?

·
since 4/10/2009
37,097 Posts
I'm just getting into trail riding and coming off an old school bike onto a new one. Bar width on the new bikes ive been looking at varies from 680 to 780mm. Is it just personal preference or are different widths better for different types of riding?
There's a big element of personal preference involved, but a bike's geometry plays a role, as well.

Generally speaking, more recent bikes are built around the idea of shorter stems and wider bars, whereas older bikes are built to use longer stems and narrower bars. There's a little wiggle room, but generally speaking, putting 680 bars onto a modern slack bike isn't going to be a good idea because bar width also affects handling and fit.

That said, most manufacturers nowadays put on really wide bars and they fully expect that if you think those are too wide, that you'll trim them. FWIW, my wife prefers her bars trimmed to about 740mm. She rides an xs frame and has pretty short arms (a negative ape factor, or a t-rex factor), and wider just feels ungainly to her. I like untrimmed 780mm bars on my bike right now (medium frame, and I have a positive ape factor). I might like wider, but haven't tried that yet. Haven't really felt a need to go wider, though.