Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All

I was considering this 2004 Apogee Sport from Ibex, (a factory direct company) for its value (I live close enough to pick up the bike in Atlanta).
I was an early single track Fisher hard tail rider and plan to re-enter the MTB world.
http://www.ibexbikes.com/Bikes/APG-SPT-Details.html

1. Any thoughts on the frame geometry, components etc (Its specs resemble a Titus swblade)

2. Anybody used this company?This bike?

Thanks in advance for advice
Bleu

Attachments

·
Registered
8 Posts
I was looking at the same bike.

From what I've read about Ibex, mainly on mtbr, Ibex might be one of the better deals out there. Componet package looks servicable, but I've read so many bad things about the RockShox. Think about upgrading it.

I'm no expert, but the frame design seems proven and effective. Specialized FSR and GT i-drive frames are similar, if I am not mistaken. I did read reviews mentioning that monocroque frames tend to be noisy (Marin FS reviews). Again, they are many others on these forums that know much more about these things than than I do.

Anyway, was prepared to throw down $1700 on a Rocky Mountain ETSX, but then I read about the frame breaking ...

The only thing keeping me from buying an Ibex Apogee is the inability to test ride it.

·
Clydesdale Warrior
155 Posts
Bleu8 said:
1. Any thoughts on the frame geometry, components etc (Its specs resemble a Titus swblade)
You are compairing a $1000 bike to a $3000+ bike...that would be like compairing a Ford Focus to a Porche 911...sure both will get you from point A to point B, but don't expect them to ride the same.