Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
First of all, can someone give me their opinion of whether or not to go to a 29" tire bike? My riding will consist of:
Trail Riding - 70%
Jumping - 10%
Road - 20%

I'm new to this so I don't know if getting a 29 is needed??

BTW, trying to stay under 1K.

Rockhopper Comp Disc $940

A1 Premium Aluminum frame, disc only, double butted TT and ORE DT, externally relieved head tube, internally relieved BB shell, reinforced disc mount, forged 3D dropouts
RockShox Tora 302 SL fork, 100mm, Mag lower, coil spring, alloy steerer, 32mm Cro-Mo stanchions, rebound adjust w/ lockout and preload adjust
Specialized 3D forged alloy stem, four bolt, 31.8mm, 7 degree rise
Avid SD3 forged alloy "V" brakes
Shimano FC-M442-8 crankset, Octalink Spline, 9-speed
Specialized Hi Lo disc hubs, 32h, CNC flange and disc mount, polished races, alloy QR
Specialized Fast Trak tires, 26x2.0", 60TPI, aramid bead

Full Specs Here

This is the bike i was most interested in. They didn't have one in stock. :mad:

Rockhopper Comp Disc 29 - $1050

Full Specs Here

They didn't have any in stock. :mad:

The same place also sells Trek but I don't know much about Trek so wasn't sure what would compare.

Anotehr store has Cannondale or Haro. I don't know much about either but the sales guy recommended Cannondale.

The F4 and the 29'er 4

Full specs on F4. $899

Full Specs on 29'er 4. $999

Neiteher were in stock in my size.

There is one other place that sells Giant but were less than helpful at that store.

I'm not necessarily stuck to these brands (Specialized, Cannondale, Trek) but that's just what is sold around here.

Any advice on what would be the best overall deal?

·
Registered
406 Posts
i prefer 29" wheels, and would recommend them. but really you should take at least a test drive of these bikes to determine which brand and wheel size feels better.