Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
well i need some advise, im 5' 7" 135 lbs, and am looking for my first new bike, i want a bike that comes stock with alright components and the best bang for the buck"im a college student, under 600$". heres a list of what i am already looking at what do you all think?

Gary Fisher Marlin
Ibex Alpine 550 or 650
Marin B-17
iron horse Mavrick disk
Haro v4

Any suggestions will be appreciated, thanks.
-Austin-

·
Cuánto pesa?
7,823 Posts
Welcome to the Forum.......................

springera1 said:
well i need some advise, im 5' 7" 135 lbs, and am looking for my first new bike, i want a bike that comes stock with alright components and the best bang for the buck"im a college student, under 600$". heres a list of what i am already looking at what do you all think?

Gary Fisher Marlin
Ibex Alpine 550 or 650
Marin B-17
iron horse Mavrick disk
Haro v4

-Austin-
Austin,
>>My vote goes for IBEX..The ALP 550 is a nice bike IMO, has a good drive-train and at $499 its a good gang for the buck deal..I realize your trying to stay under the $600 mark..But for the extra $100 that the 650 cost. you get a better drive-train, brakes and fork..I'll put up the specs on both bikes so its easier to compare:

(CLICK>) 07' ALP 550 $499
Frame: 6061 Aluminum
Fork: Manitou Axel Super Lockout w/ Air* 80mm
Shifters: Shimano Alivio
Front Derailleur: Shimano Alivio
Rear Derailleur: Shimano Deore
Crankset: Shimano Alivio (42/32/22T)
Cassette: Shimano HG50 8-spd (11-32T)
Chain: Shimano HG40
Brakes: Hayes MX-4 Mechanical Disc Brakes
Levers: Hayes HML
Rims: WTB SpeedDisc Double-Wall
Hubs: Formula
Tires: WTB VelociRaptor - 26" x 2.10
Headset: Aheadset STS-2K
Cockpit Set: UNO Alloy
Saddle: WTB Pure V Race
Pedals: Wellgo Platform w/ Toe-Clips
* shock pump required

(CLICK>) 07' ALP 650 $599
Frame: 6061 Aluminum
Fork: Manitou Slate Super Lockout - 80mm Better
Shifters: Shimano Deore Rapidfire Better