Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a 145lb XC racer who has now had 2 back surgeries (ruptured discs). I don't want to give up racing, but I now definitely need more "cushion". I have been racing my Titus Racer-X for 5 years (tricked out 23lb bomber ride) but I realize that it is more race oriented and my back won't tolerate the "harsher" ride. What has been your experience comfort wise, how do you feel about racing the SL vs your previous bike, how light can this be built with dependable parts (I currently use XO 3x10,formula oro,I9 wheelset,Masterpeice post,carbon where it is safe). What fork is best with the SL for racing. I know it's a lot of question but I trust peoples experience more than marketing jargon. My last question relates to often brought up rear "flex" has that been addressed with 2011 model year.
Thanks

·
Registered
1,392 Posts
tefloncat said:
I'm a 145lb XC racer who has now had 2 back surgeries (ruptured discs). I don't want to give up racing, but I now definitely need more "cushion". I have been racing my Titus Racer-X for 5 years (tricked out 23lb bomber ride) but I realize that it is more race oriented and my back won't tolerate the "harsher" ride. What has been your experience comfort wise, how do you feel about racing the SL vs your previous bike, how light can this be built with dependable parts (I currently use XO 3x10,formula oro,I9 wheelset,Masterpeice post,carbon where it is safe). What fork is best with the SL for racing. I know it's a lot of question but I trust peoples experience more than marketing jargon. My last question relates to often brought up rear "flex" has that been addressed with 2011 model year.
Thanks
I came to my Mojo Sl from a Moots Cinco and a Santa Cruz SuperLight before that. I don't really have any back issues so I'm not sure I can help you much, but I give you some data points to consider.