Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
No. Just No.
5,424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
During both years of CTS I have forged some new friendships during stages. The stress of race conditions tends to expose both verbal and non-verbal cues to a one's personality in a brutally honest fashion with no preparation or pretense. Within this situational bubble it is a rare occurrence for me to encounter anyone that I would have any issues in calling a friend, perhaps lending credence to the concept that our views of a person are not coloured so much by who we meet, but instead are influenced largely by the circumstances in which we meet them.

One of those people was Jim Brogden from Guelph, a pilot by trade and relatively new father who found the time this past September to handily mop up the field in the over 40 solo category at Crank. After some digging, Jim had managed to track me down to take me up on an open offer I extended to show him around some of the local trails in Vancouver if he ever had a stopover here. That opportunity presented itself sooner than expected on the weekend of Dec. 4th-6th, with Jim in Vancouver for a few days bookended by coast to coast cargo runs for FedEx.

Given that we had rain in Vancouver on 25 of November's 30 calendar days, the prospect of a forecasted dry weekend in combination with a guest from out of town prompted me to take a Friday afternoon away from the office, as the first leg of what would hopefully be a weekend triple header of rides.