Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Its been just over a year since I bought my first bike, 29er hardtail. Im 58 and ride 2 to 3 times a week, around 5 to 20 miles a ride. At first, it was very very hard, and now its still hard but I can do it without stopping. But, the hardtail is beating me up the longer Im on the bike. Plus, after about 2 hours, my arms,especially my hands are hurting and I have a tremendous pain between my shoulders.
I have a 90mm stem with 7 degree rise, my bars are 660 wide with 8 degree backsweep and 7 degree upsweep.
So I have two questions.
First pertains to the bars, as I am thinking of going to carbon bars, I was thinking of a shorter stem with a rise but with flat bars with a backsweep. What do you think???
My next question, pertains to purchase of another bike with full suspension, but suspension for just xc type riding.
Kinda had my eye on a Rip niner, but dunno if I care for all the comments on Niners low quality paint and how it holds up (Im sorry, I am vain, I care about what I have and how it looks). The second was a Salsa Spearfish. But Im open to other ideas.
I may get in a race, I dont expect to win, I just love to ride, no. I LOVE TO RIDE my bike.
I wish I had time to work out but my work life will not allow it. Gotta pay the bills. Taxes and insurance isnt cheap.
This is a great forum, come here all the time,,just wanted to say thanks for the forum also.
Possum

·
Registered
960 Posts
A couple of things. Two ways to approach this, stem or bars but only do one at a time.

As you shorten your bar you bring your arms closer together and this raises your head and shoulders. This may be enough to relieve you of the pain between your shoulder blades and might take enough weight off your hands to do the same for them. I went to carbon bars also for wee bit more flex in them.

Or do the shorter stem, maybe with more of a rise (cheaper than bars) and see if it helps.