Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 152 Posts

·
Registered
271 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Here it is:

http://www.uci.ch/ucisite/doc/GPS%20Course%20Analysis%20-%20Laoshan/start.html

Is it just me, or does it mostly look like a dirt cyclocross course, or at most STXC? Where's the singletrack? And does 160 ft of vertical qualify as a mountain ? And sure there is one rocky section and some steep descents, but they are nice and wide with long runouts. I'm just a beginner and I've had to tackle much more technical terrain and way longer climbs.

What gives?

·
Registered
12,083 Posts
Looks like quite the course, man made, some spots with fair difficultly to go fast on.

All in all if you practised the course you coould get really fast, first couple of times through you are going to be slow...

Betcha the Chinese have been running that exact course for over a year now.

·
ups and downs
15,595 Posts
You'd think it should be as challenging as a World Cup course, but then again Ft.William is not that challenging a trail surface either, but at least it has some climbs. I'm vacationing at Mont Sainte Anne this week and I walked the WC course this morning, it is just plain nasty in places with serious technical surfaces (and mud) and lots of elevation change.

The UCI tweaked the Beijing course a couple of months ago adding some length and some "more challenging sections" but it is still a weak sauce course that obviously favours the Chinese rider's lack of technical chops. Add in the factor that the atmosphere may be as clean as Los Angeles or Toronto on a smog alert day if they can halve the current smog levels. :skep:

If they're going to make it look like a CX course they should just but some of the barriers on it so they have to ride it like a CX course. :rolleyes:

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
Zipp0 said: