Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks,

I am looking to supplement my Trek Madone road bike with something more casual that I can use to ride with my wife, and periodically take on some trails. I did not want to spend a fortune on a second bike, and recently ran into a 2007 Gary Fischer X-Caliber for $475 in an excellent condition.

The 2007 X-Caliber is the last of G1 frames, and I am wondering whether I should spend a few more bucks and try to find a 2008+ G2 version. My research indicates that the Fox shock on the 08 is a bit better than the Reba on the 07, and the G2 frame is more responsive.

I will be the first one to admit that I am a noob when it comes to mountain biking and this bike will see light use. As such, will the difference between G1 and G2 bikes be notable for a rider such as I? Is the 07 X-Caliber worth $475?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
844 Posts
Not to be negative, but didn't era of GF X-Cal frames break allot. Might do some heavy searching on this site and more to research that.

What is Treks warranty on older GF's?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Trek has a lifetime frame warranty, although reports regarding being able to take advantage of the warranty have been mixed.

There have been reports of the frames cracking around the seat post, but with the relatively light use I project for this bike, I would be highly impressed with myself if I break the frame...

I did some digging around on CraigsList ads within 200 miles of my location, and the G2 X-Calibers are going for about $700-800. So the $60,000 question is whether the G1 is a good purchase at $475 vs. spending $700-800 on a G2.

·
Registered
14,069 Posts