Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone!
quick intro, I am 49yo and and a newbie regarding bikes, and all the options and technologies are confusing me to death.

So I have this dilemma, I like my gary fisher Capitola 2003 (original) but I need to revive it, it needs new tires, change cables and rear derailleur, probably shifters?. Since I am a newbie I dont know whats exactly wrong with it.

So I said, instead of investing money to fix this old bike I should shop for new one, right? but budget is low.

I found an old (looking mint) 1999 specialized rockhopper.
the other option is +150$, the GT Aggressor sport 2020.

based on my "research" on this forums and google the rockhopper is a mid-level with good (old & dated) parts and the GT is entry level but the derailleurs are the most basic from shimano, and I think that's exactly what makes me doubt about it.

Any thoughts?

Thanks to all for your feedback.

·
Registered
156 Posts
I'd stay away from the 1999 Rockhopper. its too old, dated geo, dated everything. It might be a cool retro thing for around town but if you want a MTB, buy something newer.

The GT Aggressor Sport, I don't know how much $$ you're talking used. If it is a really good price, it could get you started. However, if it were me, I'd spend a bit more and get something with hydraulic brakes a 1x drivetrain and an airfork. But having said that, if you're going around town and some dirt roads, the Aggressor sport would be fine.

·
Registered
1,229 Posts
I think the capitola was a comfort, town bike. Your choices kind of depend on what you want to do with the bike. For off road you def. need a mtn bike as the capitola will disappoint you, even if you fix everything (it will work fine for gravel paths etc.)