Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding a Spesh Fat Boy for 4 years now. Initially it was just for snow then I tried dirt and sold my 26" wheeled FS mountain bike. Last winter a friend basically gave me a nice carbon Salsa Pony Rustler for some party money he needed. My god this is a nice bike. Things have really advanced in the mountain bike world since I took a break. But here's the thing... it scares the **** out of me. Those skinny tires... sure they roll nice, but they do not feel safe. (note: I'm old at this point which may play into it). I'm thinking of putting a set of 27.5" rims with 2.8" maybe 3" tires. Has anyone else had this experience trying to go back to skinny tires and been reluctant to return?

·
Rippin da fAt
10,291 Posts
With my collection including three plus bikes, there is no intention of going back to 2.eww tires and road rims!
The pleasure of going into places that 2.nvm tires cannot traverse and a pair of 4.8's don't blink is amazing. The plus bikes are an amazing component of my collection as well. A plus full suspension has been to many great places and has been awesome. My plus singlespeed is a joy on many of the same trails.

Go out and take a plus bike for a ride and see for yourself if it doesn't fill a void. If possible, rent one for a week and give it a proper shakedown.

·
Registered
728 Posts
I have a 2015 Stumpy 29er. Got it new in the fall then got an ICT and a Mayor. When I take out the 29er. It feels like a ferrari compared to the fat. I still enjoy it at times. Just like I enjoy driving fast sometimes. I mostly ride my fatbikes though. I don't have the need for speed all the time. Plus the rocks and roots sucks ass on the skinny bike. I feel like there's a tool for every job.

·
turtles make me hot
11,663 Posts