Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Mtb Extraordinaire
322 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have to drive through Alabama tomorrow on my way to Jackson, MS. I'm going to stop at 1 of these places to ride ...... which does everyone prefer ???

I'm an expert level XC rider and am looking for techy singletrack and a few good hours on the bike. I've ridden Oak Mtn about 5 yrs ago in an XTerra race so although, I've ridden it, I haven't really seen it. From what I remember, it was a solid trail system but I also hear great things about Coldwater MTn.

Also, once my business is done in Jackson, I'm going to head up to Noxubee Hills in central MS. Looks like it should be a fun ride and another state MTB'd in.

·
Registered
87 Posts
They are both really good and you can’t go wrong with either. Oak Mt has a little more trail variety, but Coldwater has some really fun extended descents. I would ride whichever is more convenient.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
369 Posts
Thing is both are very convenient, though I'd say Coldwater will be more convenient being right of I-20, I live right next to Oak Mtn, and it's great.

How many miles do you plan on riding. Neither park will let you down, and both have a good bit of raw terrain.

·
Mtb Extraordinaire
322 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thing is both are very convenient, though I'd say Coldwater will be more convenient being right of I-20, I live right next to Oak Mtn, and it's great.

How many miles do you plan on riding. Neither park will let you down, and both have a good bit of raw terrain.
Coldwater is a few minutes more convenient but not enough to sway my decision. I'll do the full loop at either place .... so 21+ miles for Oak and 28+ for Coldwater.

·
Registered
652 Posts