Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm boxing my tracer 275 up for a trip back to it's "homeland". Traveling to san diego for a week. I pulled the rear shock off, just so i could move the rear triangle through it's travel. I noticed it's a little "notchy". I had actually felt it when i was riding the bike in the 140mm setting, but it went away when i put it in the 150 setting. I PUSHED some grease into the lower pivots to see if that WOULD HELP (IT DIDN'T). Is the notchy feeling part of the vpp geometry, or is there something wrong? WHAT SHOULD I DO? Thank you.

ALSO, WHEN I TRY TO LOOSEN THE UPPER PIVOT BOLTS, THEY ARE "CRAZY" TIGHT. I'M A FAIRLY DECENT MECHANIC, I'VE SPUN A LOT OF BOLTS..THESE ONE'S SCARE ME. THERE IS DEFINITELY A LOT OF ENGAGEMENT ON THE ALLEN WRENCH, BUT I EVEN PUT A 12" BAR ON THE WRENCH, AND THEY DIDN'T WANT TO BUDGE. SHOULD I USE A LITTLE HEAT? IS THERE RED LOCTITE? THEY ARE RIGHT HAND THREADS RIGHT? SHOULD I JUST LEAVE THEM ALONE FOR NOW?

·
Registered
1,241 Posts
Lower pivots might be tightened too much. Try loosening them a little bit.

The upper bolts have threadloc on them, they have normal threads. Apply more elbow grease. :)

·
Dude, got any schwag?
848 Posts
I'd pull the lower pivot pins & roll the bearings by hand to see if they're roached. The upper pivot bolts are likely red loctited in, so use your best judgment on them. And re apply loctite when you reassemble, those have a rep for loosening. Since you'll be in the area you can always swing by the "lair" to pick up new parts if needed.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·