Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I'm new here and kind of new to mountain biking.

Well sort of.

I've been riding bikes for about 40 years, and have always enjoyed riding off road and doing little stunts and things, but never really anything near the level that your average modern mountain biker does.

I've also always rode entry level bikes, often quite rubbish at that.

Now here's the thing. My latest bike, bought last year, is entry level like all my bikes have been. Except it handles better than any of my previous bikes. Well enough that I find myself doing things I previously wouldn't have considered. In that respect its great, but it's a double edged sword because it also means I'm really finding it's (and my) limitations.

I have done a few upgrades which have made a very positive difference, but I've now arrived at the conclusion that I should save my money for a better bike rather than further upgrades to this one.

In the meant though, I need to do something about the responsiveness at the front end. The obvious choice is to put a decent fork on to replace the dire one that came with the bike. But I'd rather put that money towards a better bike. As a low cost upgrade, I'm thinking of just sticking a half decent tyre on. The front still currently has its original cheapo one.

The bike is a Rockrider 520.

Upgrades/personalisation are:
160mm cheapo front rotor replaced with 180mm ice tech.
160mm ice tech at the back
Decent pedals to replace the factory cheapos
Original 80mm stem swapped for 60mm

Had considered but not done:
Cable brakes swap to hydraulic
Better fork
Wider bars
Convert 3x8 drive train to 1 or 2x 9

Im not ready for an all singing all dancing top spec bike. But am just keen to trust my bike as my ability and daring level increases.

Anyway, that's me. Hello all.

·
Single(Pivot)and Happy
1,778 Posts