Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Space Ghost
962 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 19" Dambala that I recently converted to 1X9. Although I am very pleased with the build, I incorrectly thought it would be lighter (26 lbs.10 oz.). I have already sunk a HUGE amount of $ into it and unless someone can advise on something simple (other than going back to SS) to lighten it up, I guess a Scandium frame is in the future (JK, well sort of...maybe not).

Here are the specs and pics:
19" Steel Dambala
Stylo cranks 32T w/bashguard
Truvativ BB (came w/cranks)
Mavic C29 w/Rampages (2 scoops of Stan's each)
BB7 160 mm (fr/rr)/FR5 levers
Jagwire ripcord cables
X9 med. rr der./shifter
Monkeylite XC bar
Thomson stem 100/10
CK headset
Thomson elite seatpost 27.2/410
Koobi saddle (250 grams I think)
Oury lock ons
WB fluid 110
Salsa skewers/seatpost clamp
Time ATAC Roc carbon pedals
Garmin 205 mount
Sram 951 chain
XT cassette

·
Registered
469 Posts
First, that's a great looking bike that you have there.

If it were me, I'd probably change the tires. The Rampages get great reviews and are still the go-to tire for many, but they're not light. Switching to something like the Racing Ralph (2.4 in front, 2.2 in back) or the Continental Trail King (again, but the fatter tire on the front) will shave some significant weight to your rolling resistance.

If you're sold on the Rampage, I would at least change the rear tire to something narrower, faster, and lighter: you can get away with a little less meat in the back, and shave off some significant grams there.

Good luck!

·
Registered
564 Posts
great looking bike.

The things I see being heavy on the bike are the wheels, tires, and cranks. You could easily save a half pound or more by switching wheels (ie stans 355 or arch mounted to ?), another half pound in tires. Crank weight will be costly but if you really wanted to lighten things up you could.

·
Expert Crasher
6,359 Posts