Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
796 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My wife and I have been heading to Colorado for the last 7 years ( Durango, Breckenridge, Fruita, Crested Butte ) Just wondering where other Texans go for good riding within a days drive?

·
bike rider
1,152 Posts
If you're willing to drive just a bit further then you should head to Salt Lake and the surrounding ares. EPIC! I had always gone to Colorado and was talked into trying the SLC area in 1998 and I've been back almost every summer since. Try it once and you'll Love it.

·
Registered
796 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
We have made it over to Utah ( Moab ) for a day trip while in Durango on a couple of occasions. But I would like to check out the southwestern part of the state not sure how SLC area compares?? What part of New Mexico are you talking about marxcamaro?? We usually drive through the Northern part ( Angel Fire / Cimmaron ) on our way to Durango and see trail markers and sweet singletrack just off the road that looks tasty but we're usually trying to get to our cabin in Durango so we never have stopped..

·
Registered
14 Posts
keithrad, we will be staying in the Angel Fire are and plan on riding there and Taos area. I have been trying to do some research on the different trails in those area. I will let you know how it is. I am ready to go now. 4 months and counting.

·
Registered
796 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Pedigre said:
The Palatinate Forest in Germany...various parts of Korea...oh, wait, those weren't/aren't vacations ;)

And most certainly not 15 hours away!

Did the Albuquerque area in 08 & 09 thanks to a conference held there back to back years. Great riding, even in August.
Ive also heard good things of Albuquerque from a buddy who downhills at Angel Fire. I just can't seem to get past Colorado only being a days drive. I'm afraid I would be dissapointed anywhere else!!

·
Builder of Trails
797 Posts
Head east, man!