Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 88 Posts

·
Registered
6,298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I turned off Strava today, likely for good, or at least a long period of time. I've noticed over the past couple years I've become too into making sure I get a certain time, or distance, or average, or PR etc. It has affected my enjoyment to some degree. So today was my first ride, sans Strava. A little weird, I didn't realize just how conditioned I've become to pushing hard on certain segments knowing I will look back on my ride. And this is just my daily after work ride home! Will be interesting over the next few months.

·
M8 M12 M15 deez nuts
8,610 Posts
I push hard for survival. I'm getting old, and I have friends well into their 50s and 60s who are still fit as fu¢k and quite fast. I want to keep my fitness level until the day I die (if at all possible). I have been using Strava since 2011 to gauge my fitness. When I was racing, I relied heavily on it for understanding where I needed improvement… OK, so I still am racing, but I have not been signed with any teams since 2017. Anyway, to each their own. Strava for some people is a pissing-up-rope KOM snatching endeavour, and they get sucked into the "do people accept me?" social media retardation; I could give a rat's ass what people think about me. I am out there having fun, and woops excuse the fook out of me if I toppled your PR on Strava - I was having fun when it happened. Go have a beer and maybe eat some tofu salad and reflect upon your (collectively, not the thread poster, Mr. 5k Huffy legs) existence.

·
Registered
6,298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·