Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am relatively new at this sport and have a question about how to outfit the bike. For instance do I use a water bottle or a camelback? What do I need to ensure that I take with me? (pump, spare innertube, toolkit, tire changing tools, suspension pump, beer cooler)???

Also what about a GPS, Heart Rate Monitor, Bike Computer???? Is there a single unit that combines the functions that I need?

·
Registered
1,639 Posts
There are two different set ups: Race setup and training (recreational) setup. For racing, you bring only things you can fix and still stay in the race (tube and chain). Nothing else is needed.

For recreational or training, bring everything you need to get you back to your car if something should happen. I carry a tube, CO2, SRAM links and multitool with chainbreaker in a wedge back under the seat.

I use water bottles 99%of the time. The 1% is when I night ride. Then I have my camelback so I can carry more survival items if I should get stuck in a state forest: cellphone, glow sticks, protein bar, small flashlight (in case Xeon light goes out).

You can get a computer that has all three, but plan on paying for it. I don't care about GPS. I have a seperate HRM and Bike computer so I can use my HRM for other things as well (spin class, jogging, etc). A bike computer is a necessity. You can get them relativitly cheap anywhere (check nashbar.com today, they have 15% off). HRM is dependent on how much info you want. I think some actually come with difibulators in case you ahve a heart attack it just shocks you back alive.

I wouldn't worry about a HRM until you've ridden awhile and established some goals for your training.

·
Registered
1,964 Posts
Only concern yourself with the tools needed to get yourself out of a fix, like Guppie said.

Don't worry about the other stuff until you're well into the game and want to start training seriously.