Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there.
Perhaps a weird question but I'm new to this. Hope its ok.

I dont like wearing conventional lycra bike shorts but I do like the comfort the padding give me. If I buy a pair of baggy bike shorts (Fox, Yeti, etc.) do they come with padding or do I wear regular bike shorts underneeth?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
362 Posts
Noob question: If I want to wear baggy MTB pants do I wear regular bike short...

Most biking shorts do. I prefer to wear padded underwear then I can wear whatever shorts I like

·
Registered
153 Posts
The better MTB shorts have a full lycra liner, often removable. I've got Pearl Izumi and Endura Humvee, both have fully removable lycra liners with chamois pads in them.

·
Registered
374 Posts
The better MTB shorts have a full lycra liner, often removable. I've got Pearl Izumi and Endura Humvee, both have fully removable lycra liners with chamois pads in them.
This. I've found most liners that come with the shorts are okay, but tend to have thinner pads and much thinner material in general. I use normal lycra shorts with good pads under my baggies for big rides.

·
Super Moderator
6,776 Posts
You don't need the best, padded lycra shorts. Get a closeout pair from Nashbar(under $50) and wear them under your choice of baggy cargo shorts.....DONE!

·
Save Jesus
2,946 Posts
The "regular" lycra shorts for roadies to wear tend to be kind of tight, with a thick slick material. They will work with your baggy shorts, but tend to be hotter and slippery. The padded under-shorts that come with your baggies are of a lighter, more vented, less slippery material. The "padded underwear" type shorts are similar to these and work well also.

·
Registered
44 Posts
I just bought a pair of pearl izumi liners that I'm going to use inside some largely nylon shorts, I could let you know how that goes for me. New to this as well

·
Registered
153 Posts