Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started a thread before I found this list so I thought I would fill this out as well...Noob here trying to get into the MTB world:

1) Budget: $650 - $800...could maybe stretch more but would be tough.

2) Bikes I am looking at:

Scott Aspect 740

http://www.scott-sports.com/us/en/products/234052/scott-aspect-740-bike/

Giant Talon 27.5 4

http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-us/bikes/model/talon.27.5.4/14840/66265/#specifications

Trek X-Caliber 7

http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/mountain/sport/x_caliber_29/x_caliber_5/#

Cannondale Trail 29er 7

http://www.cannondale.com/catalog/product/view/id/31686/s/trail-6/category/931/

3) What type of riding do you intend to do?

Live in flat Central Indiana, most likely trails, cross country type riding and some road but don't want to be afraid to take it on more technical rougher trails. Will be riding with guys with $1500 FS bikes too.

4) Do you have a preference over a hardtail or full suspension?

Hardtail

5) Age, weight and height.

37 Male, 5'10" - 5'11"....right between a medium and a large frame....go medium?

6) What sources will you consider buying from? LBS...can ride to the Scott dealer, the other LBS offers Cannondale\Trek\Giant and is close to work.

7) Do you want people to offer you alternative suggestions to issues such as budget, bikes already considered, and sources?

YES!!! KHS\Felt\Haro\Jamis\Specialized dealers are close as well.

Big concerns:

Scott dealer I can ride to but it only has a 5 Year Warranty vs. Lifetime on others.

I know components at this pricepoint are about the same and are extremely entry level...is it worth going to $800 for an XCR vs. an XCM if I want to upgrade to a real RockShox later?

Which bike/manufacturer has the better frame durability/geometry worth upgrading on later? I like the idea of upgrading/building it to what I want.