Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so I'm a noob in regard to the whole greater than "big box store" bike scene, and I'm checking out a Craigslist deal on a KHS Full Suspension frame with, as the seller put it, "add-on part;" the seller also indicated that it is a 26er, and he didn't feel like texting any more additional info. He is offering this package for $220. Hypothetically--if this the bike is of adequate riding and functioning condition--does anyone think there is a chance that this deal is potentially not worth it, and are any of you able to offer any advice on what I may possibly need to look for, e.g., typical fatiguing, cracking, or other such common issueswith this brand? As I stated previously, I'm a noob, so I'm pretty much walking at dusk with sunglasses on. Any advice is appreciated, and--if I'm the wrong place--please let me know. Thank you.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Unfortunately, no. However, I'm definitely going to check it out as extensively as I can, as well as make sure it hasn't been reported stolen or anything, prior to even considering handing over the cash.

·
Fat-tired Roadie
18,453 Posts
Sounds like way too much of a risk to me. Look for ads with enough info to identify the bike.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Alright. I think I might have found someone a little more knowledgeable to help me check it out, so hopefully it works out. It's either this or a new beginner hardtail unless I find a better option down the road. Thanks for the opinions.

·
Fat-tired Roadie
18,453 Posts
How long have you been watching Craig's List? My track bike took me a couple weeks - it can take a little patience.

Also, make a few calls. A lot of shops do a small business in used bikes and some really emphasize it. That has a lot of the advantages of buying retail, but you'll still stretch your dollars.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·