Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
SUBLIM8er
2,203 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the 29inch world and here's my question: I'm interested in the idea of running a 29 in front with a 26rear. So, what forks would work for this application assuming it's doable? The frameset is an old school ('95) Tange prestige Stumpy.

·
minister of chaos
312 Posts
Axis II said:
I'm new to the 29inch world and here's my question: I'm interested in the idea of running a 29 in front with a 26rear. So, what forks would work for this application assuming it's doable? The frameset is an old school ('95) Tange prestige Stumpy.
For that application, I'd find the shortest fork possible, maybe a Surly Cross Check fork. Even then, it will raise the front end of the bike by an inch and a half, slackening the head angle by about 2 degrees. It will have a big effect on the handling of the bike. It might work to feel how the tyre rolls over obstacles, but It will handle a lot slower that what you are used to.

Frank

·
No Reputation!
1,728 Posts
Is the frame built for a sussy fork?

I had a stumpy from the same vintage but I'm sure it was built for a short rigid fork. I put a sussy fork on it but it choppered it out a bit. If it's made for a 3" stroke fork you're in business. The X check would be an option as would the Dimensions disk only 26" fork. It'll fit the nano with a teeny bit of clearance and you should be all set.

·
SUBLIM8er
2,203 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Fastskiguy said:
I had a stumpy from the same vintage but I'm sure it was built for a short rigid fork. I put a sussy fork on it but it choppered it out a bit. If it's made for a 3" stroke fork you're in business. The X check would be an option as would the Dimensions disk only 26" fork. It'll fit the nano with a teeny bit of clearance and you should be all set.