Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2,283 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if this has been covered before but, I am looking to get into night riding on Desert Classic and I was wondering a couple things.

1) What are good lights for this(hopefully not too expensive). Do I need both handlebar and helmet lights? or will one or the other work?

2) How much more difficult is it at night, Is it hard to get used to. But I have been riding DC for the last 5 years so I am pretty familiar with this trail, so thanks in advance

·
Registered
765 Posts
Rover Nick said:
Sorry if this has been covered before but, I am looking to get into night riding on Desert Classic and I was wondering a couple things.

1) What are good lights for this(hopefully not too expensive). Do I need both handlebar and helmet lights? or will one or the other work?

2) How much more difficult is it at night, Is it hard to get used to. But I have been riding DC for the last 5 years so I am pretty familiar with this trail, so thanks in advance
I only use a bar light, but carry an inexpensive led headlamp as backup. If you're patient, you can get a good deal on an HID setup on EBAY. I picked up my L&M for 219, brand new a while back.

As for difficulty, it's not really more difficult, but it is different. I found I was taking totally different lines in some areas. Also, you get to see a bunch of critters that you wouldn't normally see.

·
Registered
765 Posts
Rover Nick said:
Are the 200+ HID systems really nessecary? I was hoping to spend more in the range of $50-75 ones, would those be suitable?
Even the cheaper halogen systems seem to be around 100. I still see people with them, but the HID's are considerably brighter. If it was me I'd look for a deal on a used HID, and if you don't like it, re-sell it on EBAY.

·
more beers, lees gears.
1,191 Posts