Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all- I'm fairly new to riding and my question is, how do I get over being scared of just getting out there. I always have the best laid plans and then when it comes time to go I just start thinking of "what if I get in someone's way" or "what if I get on the wrong trail and can't ride it" and things like that. Or worse, I am just afraid of looking like an idiot- you know, not having the right shoes, shorts, or whatever. I've had some bad run-ins with local riders before so maybe I'm just gun shy. I welcome any suggestions. I post this in the women's forum in hopes of some understanding :)
Thanks.

·
life is a barrel o'fun
2,502 Posts
Welcome! :)

Forget about the "what if what if what if." You have just as much of a right to be out there as the hammerheads. Keep that in mind.

Be aware of proper trail etiquitte, such as:

- If it's a one-way trail, be sure you're going in the right direction.

- If it's two-way, the person climbing UP the hill has right-of-way.

- If somebody wants to pass, move over to the right when you're ready and allow them to pass.

- If you encounter a horseback rider, dismount from the bike and walk past horse and rider.

- If you encounter hikers, be polite, say "Hi," and try not to startle them.

I think about years ago when I started, on my rigid bike, no helmet, ripped jeans, not even a ponytail. I'd stand to the side of the trail, incredulous as hammerheads zipped past. I was like, "How the HECK can they go so fast over this trail?!" :confused:

Remember, even as you get better at it, mountain biking is all about looking like a dork when you crash/biff/dab/eat dirt/get muddy etc. It's part of the sport, so get used to it! :p

·
Registered
115 Posts
Bienvenue! Welcome! It doesn't matter, what you ride, where you ride, how you ride, or what you wear when you ride, as long as you ride, that's all that counts. :)

·
Domestic Fowl