Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, heard about this forum from some guys I rode with last summer. I just started riding, currently on a used hardtail, but have saved up a little under 3k for a new bike. I don't do anything difficult, typical cross country stuff and am not really interested in anything more.

I've been lurking around the Intense forum drooling all over my monitor when someone builds a new bike, but I think I'm ready for a full suspension, something to take a little edge off the hardtail. Being in Maine, not too many shops around, but I have seen a few Intenses on the trails, not even sure where they came from.

Basically, I'm looking for a full suspension bike, I'm not adverse to used, provided it can be upgraded and provided the parts aren't terribly beat. I was thinking 5.5 or Spider for what I do, or a Santa Cruz Blur, or Specialized Stumpjumper. I think I'd have to compromise the components for the Stumpy, and a little bit on the Blur, but I'm not sure on the Intense. Do they do completes? If so, what do they have and where can I see the list of components?

Thanks and sorry for all the questions.

·
..ouch
2,028 Posts
Welcome..

Intense > Santa Cruz > Specialized.

You'll find that Intense is generally going to be the highest price of the 3 brands.. Of course you'll get what you pay for. The Stumpy would get you a nice build in your price range with some extra coin left over to invest in riding gear (plus you can find used ones everywhere). Then, once you've had a few years of trail time to get used to full suspension you can upgrade to an Intense. I love my Intense, but the performance gains of a high-end brand might not be worth the extra $$ to someone new to FS. Any of the bikes you mentioned will be fully capable of taking you quite far in the sport.

·
local trails rider
12,300 Posts
There's hundreds of bikes out there that fit the description.