Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to MTB racing, and am doing a season in sport this year. I'm having a problem with the first lap of races, they're just sickening! I find it physically and mentally tough to hang in there at the start, and it is only into the later laps that I feel in control of the bike and able to race it.

I realise that there are no easy answers to the physical side, I just need to get stronger. Can anyone suggest training ideas that will help me gut out the first lap? Also, any tips on how I can mentally approach the first lap that might help?

Cheers. :)

·
Metalheadbikerider
2,902 Posts
How's your warm-up?

JBone said:
I am new to MTB racing, and am doing a season in sport this year. I'm having a problem with the first lap of races, they're just sickening! I find it physically and mentally tough to hang in there at the start, and it is only into the later laps that I feel in control of the bike and able to race it.

I realise that there are no easy answers to the physical side, I just need to get stronger. Can anyone suggest training ideas that will help me gut out the first lap? Also, any tips on how I can mentally approach the first lap that might help?

Cheers. :)
I had the same difficulty in the beginning of races. Now I use a trainer and do hard 1 min. intervals before the race. You should try to get the point of feeling horrible before the race in your warm-up so that when the race starts you are rady to rock. If you don't have a trainer try to find a hill and do some hard repeats, but start with a 15 minute warm-up prior to doing those.
Does that make sense?

·
Registered
1,918 Posts
Agree with warming up, and also