Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
this may be better suited to the GT section, but im new to this so beginner section it is

i baught a 2001 GT Idrive 6 off eaby. i got it in the mail today and noticed some problems with it.

Forgive me if i call things by the wrong name here.
the 3 gears up front on the crank are all missing at least one tooth, upon futher inspection it looks like all 3 are riveted together right to the crank itself, if it helps its a suntour cr210. how hard is it gonna be for me to replace that? any sugestions on what i should buy to replace it, im on a budget(hence the used bike) but i dont wanna buy anything cheap either.

should i also replace the chain and rear cassette? while im at that should i also replace the front and rear derailers? the rear is a shimano acera, the front is a shiman alivio.

anything else i should inspect before i start riding this thing?

its raining today so i didnt really ride it hard but i just rode it around my building and shifted through all the gears. all seemed well, and its a much nicer bike than the HUFFY i had 12 or 13 yrs ago in grade school, so im pretty pleased other than the fact i was told it was a 2004(i learned it was a 2001 before i baught it so that didnt bother me too much), i was told it was in great shape, which its not really, and it came absolutly filthy, but oh well if i didnt buy this bike i probably wouldnt have got one at all

·
Domestic Fowl
869 Posts
Sounds like this bike is outfitted with pretty low-end components. Since you're on a budget I'd suggest just riding it as-is and only replace something if it doesn't work. You can often get away with missing teeth on teh chainrings. Also, some chainrings have a few shorter teeth and other features that help move the chain up onto the ring.