Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

I'm brand new to this amazing forum, and my head is already spinning there's so much info. here!

I'm totally new to mtb'ing. I've just picked up my first bike. It's a used 7-speed 2000 Kona Lana'i. It's well used, but also well taken care of and I got it for dirt cheap. Having read the reviews here people recommend this bike as a solid intro bike but also recommend making upgrades, as the frame is apparently worth it. The p.o. upgraded the pedals, handle bar, stem, tires, seat, fork and grips. The rest appears to be stock.

So I guess I want to know what kind of upgrades are recommended for this bike. I've read that converting a 7 speed to 8 or 9 speed isn't worth it. Is that still the case with this bike? I purposely bought a good but cheap bike so I could learn how to work on it myself. I have the money to get upgraded components (at least good quality used components from ebay/craigslist, etc.). Rather than just buy a better bike, I'd like to learn how things work/go together so I'll know how to maintain the bike over the long run.

That said, can you guys suggest some upgrades particular to this bike? Particularly to the drivetrain and brakes, which are not hot, but are to be expected for an entry level bike.

Thanks to all and awesome site!

J

·
pronounced may-duh
4,306 Posts
Your totally new to mtb'ing so just relax and enjoy the bike you have. No sense in upgrades just for upgrades sake. Go ride and have some fun. You may find that everything works just fine. Replace only what breaks or wears out or really bugs you casue it just doesn't perform well. If you get hooked on mtb'ing you will be lusting after a new "dream" bike in no time. Save you money for that dream bike. Don't forget to wear your helmet.

·
Registered
129 Posts
Hi dude, first of all, Maida7 is damn right.