Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to mountain biking (started like 7 months ago). I have a totally newbie SS question. Please excuse my ignorance if my question sounds daft!

I currently ride a full sus. But thinking of buying an all mountain steel hardtail. Trying to understand more about single speeding, and the thing that puzzles me is the need for a chain tensioner for vertical drop-out bikes.

Can't the chain be tensioned by shortening the chain so that a tensioner is not required? I understand that a new chain will stretch. But you can continue to shortened the chain until the point where the chain does not stretch anymore? On horizontal drop-out bikes, my understanding is that you can pull the wheel back to tension the chain. Can't this be achieved by shortening the chain ie. removing links to keep the chain tension?

Or, is it such that no matter how tight you can get the chain to be (but not so tight as to lock-up the bearings), and assuming no chain stretch, there will always be some chain slack that will cause the chain to potentially come up the chainring and/or sprocket?

Thanks!

·
Bro Mountainbiker
3,583 Posts
Can't the chain be tensioned by shortening the chain so that a tensioner is not required?
What you are reffing to is a "Magic Gear". Not all frames have a usable ratio of chainring/cog that allow perfect chain tension even with a half link. You will need a tensioner of sort unless you get super lucky with your gearing.

Sheldon Brown will tell you
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/singlespeed.html

·
Registered
12,675 Posts