Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! I am a complete newbie in all aspects. The last time I owned a bike was 1989 and it was a general department store issue. You could say a lot has changed since then. {GEEZER ALERT!} Long story short, the bikes at the BBS were too tall, the ones at D!$%'s were questionable to the point that the tech told me "don't ride that bike on that hill! Just return it..." and that landed me at my LBSs where I selected a Specialized Myka SE Disc. I had a really hard time wrapping my head around the price {insert Geezer quote "in my day you could get...for a NICKEL!"}but, I made enough peace with it to go ahead and buy.
I am hooked! I love everything about it except the tender posterior region. Yes, I upgraded to a gel seat and yes, I ordered some cycle shorts. :)
I am enjoying reading about the care and maintenance as well as gear and clothing suggestions. It seems that my newbie questions at my LBS are just too pedestrian for them to deal with. So, I came online to look up my own info and found this gem of a forum!
Quick question on LBS etiquette. Small town, two competing shops, I have been to both to try bikes. Can I take my "competing brand" bike to the other shop for accessories/ kit supplies, or am I supposed to stick completely to the shop where I bought my bike and will have it serviced? I know they would like the business, but would they want the "other guy's" brand in front of their shop?

·
Registered
14,038 Posts
Lbs will work on or sell things for any bike. Maybe they will get your bike business the next time.
Everyone, at the beginning of every season, gets a little sore until you toughen up the area.
After a couple weeks, you should then look for a saddle that fits, is light and in your budget.

·
Bikesexual
7,568 Posts
My suggestion for gear is not the shop but pricepoint.com or nashbar you can get some good deals!