Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey gang,

I am new to mountain biking, but realized how much i was missing a few weeks ago while @Skeggs.

I do prefer easier uphills. Downhills are lovely. Exploiting girlfriends to shuttle us to uphill is ideal.

Given the snow conditions, I am planning this Saturday &/or Sunday. Any veterans who can show a newbie a way around - preferably at Skeggs?

nic

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
will i make it in a day?

baycat, thank you for the map

few weekends ago my chains died on Madera Creek Trail between Tafoni & Resolution - I had to haul the bike back up to skeggs. Relatively to that how does the rest of this loop compares? - I just dont want to end up camping with m.lions overnight <heard there r some>
I believe when it rains Muirwoods closed certain hiking trails due-to possible mudslides, etc. Will the rangers leave the park open? do people bike when it rains?

Sorry to inundate you with questions & again thank you

baycat said:
For a good intro to Skeggs ride follow this route CW starting from Skeggs Point parking lot:

http://passiontrailbikes.com/files/ECdM-Map.pdf

And more information via Passion Trail Bikes:

http://passiontrailbikes.com/pages/ECdM

·
Registered
349 Posts
Your chains died? I assume you mean broke. Most places you will get to in Skeggs as a beginner you can hike back out of within a couple of hours. The bottom of El Corte Madera Cr. trail is pretty close to the exit of the park though, you could find yourself in much worse situations I suppose, but still, the place isn't huge it's just steep, keep a map with you and you can always get out. It also helps especially at Skeggs to go on group rides. It helps anywhere actually.

If you read the "First time in Demo" thread, it looks like we are going to be heading there again this weekend.

·
Registered
589 Posts
justariderinboxers said:
baycat, thank you for the map