Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to mtn biking and I have a M50 Raleigh and idk if its a good bike? I am looking to buy a new bike under 600 bucks if possible. Anyone have suggestions on a new bike or should i just upgrade my bike and ride it? I'd love to save money because I'm a college student. Any ideas on a great bike for unbeatable price? used or new

·
Registered
309 Posts
I'm not really familiar with Raliegh, so I can't offer an opinion on your current rig, but if you're looking for a new bike, check out the Specialized HardRock or RockHopper. I know the HardRock can be had for less than $600, and I'm pretty sure you can get on a RockHopper under that mark, as well. Visit a Local Bike Shop and check them out, if you get the chance.

Ross

·
Freshly Fujified
8,199 Posts
A couple of ideas

If you're looking used, check the local Craigslist. From there check the mtbr classifieds, and lastly, Ebay. You will probably find some deals here on bikes that were bought, owner rode a few times, then lost interest. If buying new, a leftover from your LBS is a great option, as they are typically discounted. Direct from online vendors like Ibex and Kinly is a good idea if you are comfortable buying sight undeen. here's a great bike for $600. Only drawback is that the fork is not ideal for riders over 150-175 lbs, IMO.

http://www.ibexbikes.com/Bikes/ALP-650-Details.html

Bob

·
Registered
16 Posts