Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So....I'm a newbie to MTB and recently picked up my first bike. It's a Diamondback Mason 1, which came with 27.5 x 3.0 Vee Bulldozer tires.

I've only ridden about 15-20 miles of trails over 4-5 outings and my rear tire is already chopped to hell. It's missing about 4 nobs from the outside and the sidewalls are scraped up. Is this normal? Is it the tires? How I'm riding? The front tire looks good as new, as it should. Here's the rear tire:

Artifact Sculpture Carving Ancient history Tread
Finger Automotive tire Nail Tread Synthetic rubber

This is the terrain I'm normally riding. Any specific tire suggestions?

Vegetation Natural landscape Coastal and oceanic landforms Plant community Soil
Vegetation Plant community Rock Bedrock Nature reserve

·
BOOM goes the dynamite!
6,212 Posts
No, the knobs falling off that soon is NOT normal. Assuming it's new that should fall under warranty.

I can't comment on the sidewalls. That can happen if you slice 'em on sharp rocks.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So do you think I just got a bad tire? I'm running the rear at about 23psi and the front at 21psi. The range for the tire is 10psi-30.5psi.

I'll reach out to DB and see if they'll send me a new one.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
I'd get them warrantied. Your trails look like a lot of fun. Where is that?
Duluth, MN

Great trails here, but the weather hasn't been cooperating. Tougher winter than usual and it just doesn't want to let go. Got about two inches of snow today. :/

That's why I've only had the bike out 4/5 times in the month that I've had it. Lol

I sent a warranty request off to DB. We'll see what they say.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
18 Posts