Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
254 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to downhill, my bike is more or less capable of moderate drops and whatnot (6/7 at 31.5 pounds).

I would like to give it a shot, but I know little of the technique involved.

I guess my first question is about riding behind the saddle. This is done on steep sections to avoid endo, right?

When I ride behind the saddle (at least on flat ground), my junk seems dangerously close to the saddle. It's kind of worrying.

Anyways, any tips for beginners would be appreciated, along with an explanation to riding behind the saddle.

I won't be doing any drops for a while, just starting out with descents that you don't see in your average XC ride.

·
Registered
1,103 Posts
mkiv808 said:
I'm new to downhill, my bike is more or less capable of moderate drops and whatnot (6/7 at 31.5 pounds).

I would like to give it a shot, but I know little of the technique involved.

I guess my first question is about riding behind the saddle. This is done on steep sections to avoid endo, right? The more you are behind your saddle the more you can use your front brake without going over te bars.When I ride behind the saddle (at least on flat ground), my junk seems dangerously close to the saddle. It's kind of worrying. No worries.
Anyways, any tips for beginners would be appreciated, along with an explanation to riding behind the saddle. Look where you want to go and not where you want to fall. Have confidence.I won't be doing any drops for a while, just starting out with descents that you don't see in your average XC ride.
The more you use your brakes the more wobbly or off balance you become.

Downhill Mike
www.whiteface.com

·
I railed it like Kong
637 Posts