Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
washed-up moto guy
237 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Long time lurker first time poster here in the XC forum.

I am fairly new to XC racing but would like to give XC Marathon Nationals a try in Sun Valley this year. From what I can gather, it looks like there is no qualifying process for Marathon Nats. Am I correct in assuming that?

Also, if any of you have any experience racing Marathon Nats or marathon racing in general, would love to get your input on how to best prepare and any other XCM wisdom you would be willing to share.

Thanks guys!

·
Premium Member
48,238 Posts
Long time lurker first time poster here in the XC forum.

I am fairly new to XC racing but would like to give XC Marathon Nationals a try in Sun Valley this year. From what I can gather, it looks like there is no qualifying process for Marathon Nats. Am I correct in assuming that?

Also, if any of you have any experience racing Marathon Nats or marathon racing in general, would love to get your input on how to best prepare and any other XCM wisdom you would be willing to share.

Thanks guys!
You will get better answers on the Endurance XC board.

·
Registered Dietitian
1,961 Posts
Actually, I'd bet you'll get at least as good an answer here. Sub-40 mile XC races have more in common with regular XC races (heck, we had a 40-mile XC race as part of our series last season!) than with the general population of the Endurance board... many of them focus on much longer races, and most are just "in it to finish" vs. being competitive in their category.

You're talking about a 3-3.5 hour race for many people, so the prep (for many of us) is like a regular XC race, just with a bit more focus on longer tempo (zone 3) intervals and a little less on zone 4 (threshold) and above.

It's actually very easy to stretch up from 2 hour XC races to 3 hour Marathon races if you already have 1) good XC fitness and 2) sufficient training volume.