Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just getting started in the MTB scene from a layoff for about ten or twelve years. My last bike was Univega 750.

I strated this journey looking for a bike to help get some weight off, and if I ever get back into shape do some light downhill stuff. Now I am 37 and over 300 lbs right now, so I don't see any 8 ft drop or 10ft jumps anytime soon. Even when I get down to 240 ish. That being said it is a fairly fit 300+. I am 6'3" and waist is between a 42 and 44 and I compete in the highland games.

OK to the questions....

I pretty much have my heart set on a GF SuperCaliber but cannot afford it. I am looking at a DEAN Colonel frame for $500 and wonder if it is worth it?

Also if I get the frame, what am I looking at to finish it. I have read a lot on here but have really noticed opinions vary.

Also, Also, do you guys know of any other 29 inch full susp. moderately prices? I think I want the FS with lockouts better than a hardtail but I can be convinced.

Any Ideas?

·
Samsonite Tester
3,993 Posts
Try the 29" hardtails. Steel cheap ones. You will be suprised at how little suspension you will need.

·
Registered
6,237 Posts
Univega 750

TellicoNut said:
I am just getting started in the MTB scene from a layoff for about ten or twelve years. My last bike was Univega 750.

I strated this journey looking for a bike to help get some weight off, and if I ever get back into shape do some light downhill stuff. Now I am 37 and over 300 lbs right now, so I don't see any 8 ft drop or 10ft jumps anytime soon. Even when I get down to 240 ish. That being said it is a fairly fit 300+. I am 6'3" and waist is between a 42 and 44 and I compete in the highland games.

OK to the questions....

I pretty much have my heart set on a GF SuperCaliber but cannot afford it. I am looking at a DEAN Colonel frame for $500 and wonder if it is worth it?