Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all! - new here, and I want to say this is a great forum with a lot of info! I am just starting out and am looking for my first mtn bike. Roughly in the 400-700 range.

So far I've narrowed it down to few bikes, but would like to see any other suggestions/comments to find which bike is best for me.... specification wise that is.

I know I will have to ride them and see which fits me best.... but I would like to narrow the list down to 2 before I do that.

The bikes are:

LBS:
Cannondale f5 - http://www.cannondale.com/bikes/08/cusa/model-8FS5.html
Trek 6000 - http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/2008/mountain_hardtail/6_series/6000/

Online:
Motobecane 700ht - http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/motobecane/motobecane_700HT.htm
Alpine 550 - http://www.ibexbikes.com/Bikes/ALP-550-Details.html

Let me know your thoughts or any other bike that may be similar/better in components.

Thanks in advance!:thumbsup:

·
ride hard take risks
25,423 Posts
The Trek is well speced across the boards with X5 drive train then backs it up with Avid BB5 brakes. :cornut:

Ibex drops the front derailleur to a X3 and uses Hayes MX4 brakes which are not great. :thumbsup:

Motobecan offers the best rear derailleur but drops the front der & shifters to low end with Tektro brakes which are nothing to brag about. :)

Best bang for the buck would be between the Trek & Ibex. :rockon:

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thanks guys!

yea.. ibex is a internet only bike... as with the motobecane... i have never seen them at a LBS.

Dogonfr, any comments on how the CANNONDALE F5 stacks up with the TREK 6000?

Thanks again!

·
Registered
1,183 Posts
Pick a few bikes out and test ride them. Honestly, I test rode a few and really couldn't tell the difference between a few. I went with the F5. I had a Specialized Hard Rock that got stolen years back, and well, I wanted a change.

·