Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm getting ready to order a bike. I'm new at Mountain biking but want to have a do it all. I'm wanting to start of by single track trail riding and hit small jumps and want it to be able to climb decent. I'm 6'2-6'3 and 250 if that matters. I applied for the Trek card yesterday and was approved for 4k. Can you order a bike and ask them to swap components? The remedy 8 looks great but I feel (based on reviews) the crankset and brakes could be better. The fuel ex9 looks awesome for single track but what about small jumps and what not? I'm looking for the pros and cons of each and to see which one better suits my needs.

I'm looking for opinions as soon as possible as I want to place the order today. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1,673 Posts
Yes, many bike shops will work with you on swapping parts when you order a bike.

Both bikes have different purposes:

EX9 is an XC bike. It has been designed for efficient pedalling. Yes, it can take usual tail features, but it will hold you back on technical terrain.

Remedy8 is an AM bike. It has been designed for technical riding - drops, jumps, steep and rough trails. Yes, it can serve as an XC bike - just don't expect to be as fast as the XC riders.

You need to make a decision if you rather want to pedal fast and for distance - or play on the trail. If you really want to seek out jumps, drops, rollers and what not, go for the Remedy. The bike will make you progress faster. If the jumps are just in your way, but nothing you are really thrilled about... go for the Fuel, it is the faster pedalling platform.

Nothing wrong with the Remedy8 brakes. Just need an allen key for some of the adjustments. Don't worry about the cranks. You can replace them when they actually fail. If they do this within the warranty period... you can still negotate an upgrade. If they don't... they'll likely never will.

·
Registered
1,673 Posts