Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Young, Shawn Young
3,165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bought a new bike yesterday(yeti 575) and it came with Mavic xm519 rims and High Roller tires. I love the rims but the tires are kinda wimpy looking for desert riding(las vegas, bootleg canyon xc).

Im looking for any suggestions for front / rear tire combos. I usually run a 2.3 in the front and at least a 2.1 in the rear.

Also, can I just run regular tire/tubes on these rims?

Im new to the tubeless world so lots of questions:)

Shawn

·
Premium Member
48,238 Posts
Redmon said:
Bought a new bike yesterday(yeti 575) and it came with Mavic xm519 rims and High Roller tires. I love the rims but the tires are kinda wimpy looking for desert riding(las vegas, bootleg canyon xc).

Im looking for any suggestions for front / rear tire combos. I usually run a 2.3 in the front and at least a 2.1 in the rear.

Also, can I just run regular tire/tubes on these rims?

Im new to the tubeless world so lots of questions:)

Shawn
519s are not tubeless rims. All Mavic UST rim numbers start with "8".

Standard tire quick list:
  • Kenda Blue Groove / Nevegal 2.10/2.35
  • Kenda Cortez 2.4
  • Nokian NBX 2.3
  • Panaracer Cinder 2.25
  • Intense CC 2.25
  • Hutchinson Spider 2.1/2.3
  • Schwalbe Albert/Fat Albert 2.25/2.35
  • Conti Gravity ProTection 2.3

·
Spoke-n-Spoon Junkie
380 Posts
Avoid the Nokians at Bootleg