Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
335 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been been riding again for a little over a month after not riding for close to 20 years. I'm pleasantly surprised how many skills have come right back.

Long story short, I've decided to upgrade the wheelset on my Giant trace X 29 2 to celebrate losing the 20 lbs I want to lose. I'm about half way there, so i started looking for new wheels. I used to be a good mechanic but I'm still getting up to speed with everything new. The drivetrain is Shimano SLX 1x12 microspline setup.

I'm looking for all around trail/ enduro style wheels. I'd like them to be lighter than the wheels that came on the bike. Any recommendations on where to start?

Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
8,707 Posts
Help us to help you. Please let us know:
  • Your weight.
  • Budget.
  • Riding Style (i.e., only ride buff single track, no jumps or drops over two feet, or ride boulder infested fields with constant five foot hucks to flat).

·
Registered
335 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Help us to help you. Please let us know:
  • Your weight.
  • Budget.
  • Riding Style (i.e., only ride buff single track, no jumps or drops over two feet, or ride boulder infested fields with constant five foot hucks to flat).
Weight is 180lbs (185 with everything on).
Goal is to get down to 160lbs.

Budget is flexible but let's call it up to $1,500, but could go up or down if justified. Less is always good, bit I'm not afraid to spend for quality.

Riding style is mainly single track, lots of roots and a few rock gardens. Mostly blue to black, fairly technical trails.
I'm not hitting big drops or crazy hucks. The occasional jump, but nothing huge. No big drops, they still make me more nervous than jumps.

·
Premium Member
8,707 Posts