Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As the title states, I'm new to tubeless tire setups.

I have converted my bike to tubeless.

Front tire was tubed, I broke one side of the bead, removed the tube, added sealant, aired it up to 25 psi, pop-pop, rode it for a while, and it seemed to seal.

Rear tire was new. I aired it up dry to seat the bead, broke one side of the bead, added sealant, aired it up to 25 psi.

The rear tire didn't do as much pop-pop, if any at all. The bead looks seated evenly all the way around and I have no reason to believe it's not seated. Should I be concerned?

Even after a few rides, the front has dropped from 25 psi to less than 15 psi over a week of sitting. Is this to be expected - just check it before each ride anyway - or should I be expecting a better seal? I don't see any sealant residue anywhere around the tire or rim.

Also, how does the sealant not clog the stem when you air it down?

Thanks.

· Class Clown
3,834 Posts
Some air loss is expected with the tire just sitting. I would take the wheel off and shake it good, hold it horizontal, flip the tire, etc. and try to get the sealant everywhere. Don't rely on just spinning the wheel.

· EAT MORE GRIME
(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
8,333 Posts
if you converted to tubeless as described, how do you know the rim tape is complete and holding
back properly ? if you cannot resolve pressure loss (a little pressure loss is normal in many setups)
then remove tire and examine the rim tape if rim has spoke holes that need to be covered.

sealant sometimes does clog the valve, you can use a stripped down q-tip and remove
the core and clean out residue, or just have replacement valves laying around to use

Reactions: rjrodney

· Registered
1,128 Posts
if you converted to tubeless as described, how do you know the rim tape is complete and holding
back properly ?