Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm putting together a 29er and just had my tubeless wheel set built up. Really reputable place. Nobody does wheels better I've heard. But I got the tires last night, went to work today, and came home to really soft tires, obviously not holding air.

This is my first time of going tubeless. I've got Stan's Arch rims with Maxxis Ignitor rear and Ardent front. The guy at the front desk had to seat my tires and inflate while I waited... and had to do them over because he couldn't get the tire to seat well.

I haven't taken them on a ride yet because the bike is still in process. And I've heard you have to ride them to get the sealant to coat the inside of the tire. But it seems really bad if they are going soft this fast. Like a rim tape issue or bad seating of the tire in the groove.

Thoughts??? Do tubeless tires go flat this fast??

·
Registered
59 Posts
spin the wheel well get the sealant spread around and inflate again. do this process 3-5 times and if it keeps losing air like that take it back. it may just have a little spot that needs some sealant

·
Village Dirtbag
2,284 Posts
This is normal if they're converted tires rather than UST. To fix it, make sure to move the tire around to really distribute the sealant (you do have sealant, right?). This will seal the micro-holes. You may also want to get a sponge of soapy water and wipe down the sides. Leaks will be visible as bubbles, and you can then tilt it to put sealant in that area.

·
Registered
448 Posts
tribug said:
Watch the very first video:

http://www.notubes.com/Movies_Kit_Installation.aspx

Around 11:10, Stan says tires must be sealed BEFORE riding.