Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought Shimano hydraulic brakes (Bl-m445) and when I got everything done cutting the line put the brass pieces on. shoved the line into the brake. As I was bleeding the brakes it started to leak out of the fitting on the hose where the brass is. Im thinking the brass crimp piece didn't set right. but this is my first year riding and im new to everything.

·
Magically Delicious
12,499 Posts
Doing your own brakes is easy. Just take some time and understand what you are doing and do it right. Your line nut was not properly torqued enough to set, seal and compress the olive to the line. Don't let a minor problem prevent you from learning to do this on your own. Go to the brake forum and you'll find plenty on this subject.

·
Magically Delicious
12,499 Posts
Check out some of these:

http://forums.mtbr.com/brake-time/shortening-hoses-899237.html

http://forums.mtbr.com/brake-time/shortening-shimano-xt-hoses-771412.html

To summarize one of my earlier posts:

Bleeding your brakes, especially Shimano's is easy. And yes, you can shorten the brake lines without having to bleed if done carefully. But bleeding this isn't difficult if you induce some air into the system. My steps here are for shortening the brake lines on the XT M-785's, but I don't think there's any significant difference if any.

When line is opened, air is introduced near the master cylinder. By expanding the brake pucks, we can force bleed any remaining air from cut and reinstalled line up into master cylinder by compressing pucks back into caliper.

Remove rubber boot and loosen 8mm brake line at each master cylinder.

Separate brake line from master cylinder and measure for proper length of brake line from caliper to master cylinder. Be careful to allow for unrestricted full front wheel side-to-side movement.