Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there guys,

Thank you for taking the time to read this and possibly respond. So first of all, I'm completely new to the scene and I have no idea what I am getting myself into. As far as riding, I plan on riding around town to start out with a local trail here that I don't think is too rugged. I would like to later advance into some real mountain riding, but that'll come with time. I've visited a couple LBS that have offered me their advice and pointed me in some direction as far as what kind of bike I should be looking at. My price point is around 400-500 with 600 being the absolute maximum if I could get some crazy deal on a mtb. I'm 5'5 130 lbs and I've been suggested that a 15-16" frame would suit me best. So here's the list of bikes I've looked at....

2011 Trek 3700 that is priced at 450.
2010 Specialized Hardrock sport disc 499
2010 Hardrock disc 429
2010 Gary Fisher Advanced disc 420
2011 Hardrock disc 480
2010 Rockhopper (Not sure price)
2010 Cannondale F4 for 659 (Supposedly a steal at this price?)

I could list more but hopefully this list gives you an idea of the range of bikes I'm looking at. I don't know what I'm looking for, but so far I like the 2010 Rockhopper with disc brakes since it's more around what I'd like to pay, but like I said before if it's an amazing deal I don't mind it. Also, please give some input as to what model you feel is the best for the price. Thanks again.

·
Fat-tired Roadie
18,453 Posts
Have you ridden any of those bikes?

When you do, you'll narrow your list a lot.

In general, try to start with the best bike you can afford. Things will last longer before they break and you have to replace them.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·