Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
I am new to mountain biking figured I ll introduce myself her and have a thread going for general progress.
I ve been doing some research on a new active hobby for me , wifey and some friends and we decided on mountain biking. After some research and craigslist hunting I picked up 2 Schwinn Skyliners Hybrid bikes for my wife and her brother locally on Craigslist for around 60$ for both! Also installed a hitch on my SUV and 4 bike Thule rack.
Being an Engineer and backyard auto mechanic I decide to build a bike-figured its fun and a good thing to know your bike and every component. So what I got so far is a Leader LD-526H Frame and a Raleigh M600 Parts bike. I rode the Raleigh M600 already a few times and it’s a great bike with some good components(Shimano Deore groupset, rock shock Judy fork and Avid disk brakes) but feels too heavy for me and a bit small for my size(5’11), so main goal is basically a lighter bike all around, that’s where the leader frame comes in. Basically I ll be swapping everything over from Raleigh M600 to the Leader frame with exception of basic weight reducing components.
So far I bought some parts for the bike: Carbon RC stem, Hylix Carbon seatpost and FSA carbon handlebars, also got a lighter Serfas Stinger saddle and FSA zero stack headset. I am a big Carbon fiber fan and having carbon all over the bike is eye candy for me J.Also picked up some tools, I figured it’s a good investment since we now have 3 bikes: Topeak Alien multi tool, torque wrench, DIY home depo headset press, bb tool and Park Crankset puller.
Here are some pictures of my progress so far:
The bike: 2003 Raleigh M600 with some upgrades
1.jpg

Frame Leader LD-526H :

2.jpg IMG_3905.JPG IMG_3906.JPG