Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
DownhillBAWS
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi im new to this fourm and im looking to get into downhill. im 16 and currently have a giant warp ds1. i dont have alot of money to send and was looking to do a trade/money deal... what do you think would be good to start off with???

·
Registered
150 Posts
If you have no experience, Go to a lift-accessed mountain that you can take your bike to and ride down the easier trails. Once you get to speed and can handle that and are ready for more rough terrain, try renting a bike to try some more difficult trails. Keep looking on Craigslist.com, every now and then you can pick up a good DH rig for around 800-1500 bucks. I got lucky and picked one up for 300.
Are you looking to get into actual DH Racing, or just DH/FR for fun?

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
The fact that you are only 16 doesn't matter too much. Just work your way up to where you want to be: both with regard to what kind of bike you want and how you want to ride. You have to start somewhere. Save your money, go to school, get a good job, and chances are you'll have the money to do more of what you want to do. The trick for you right now is to continue to develop a love for the sport. That way when you are able to get a nice bike, you'll enjoy and appreciate it that much more.

·
DownhillBAWS
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
If you have no experience, Go to a lift-accessed mountain that you can take your bike to and ride down the easier trails. Once you get to speed and can handle that and are ready for more rough terrain, try renting a bike to try some more difficult trails. Keep looking on Craigslist.com, every now and then you can pick up a good DH rig for around 800-1500 bucks. I got lucky and picked one up for 300.
Are you looking to get into actual DH Racing, or just DH/FR for fun?