Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
23,381 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I am new to commuting. Long term recreational mtb'er but I have a new road bike for the commute. What I need to know is - what do I need gear wise to make the commute most effiecnet and enjoyable?

I have:
Road bike
Fenders
Lights
Ortlieb backpack
Rain jacket
Towel (the quick drying type)

What do I need?
Pants
etc

Work has no shower facilities either.

·
Registered
173 Posts
I usually take a shower before heading out on my 7 mile commute. I arrive a little early so my body can stop sweating and then I'll break out the baby wipes. There are so many brands of baby wipes out there so you'll just have to pick one that you feel comfortable with. Good luck and watch out for those vehicles. Ride defensively.

·
Registered
94 Posts
Sounds Like you are all set

ChrisFFTA said:
Ok, I am new to commuting. Long term recreational mtb'er but I have a new road bike for the commute. What I need to know is - what do I need gear wise to make the commute most effiecnet and enjoyable?

I have:
Road bike
Fenders
Lights
Ortlieb backpack
Rain jacket

What do I need?
Pants
etc

What you have is a good start ... aside from your normal bike gear, I would not be going out and buying any new stuff to commute. Lights, fenders and waterproof backpack are a perfect start (I just picked up an Ortleib myself and they are great!) .. depending on how much it rains where you live, some waterproof overpants might be nice and maybe some shoe covers to keep your feet dry ... but I would go for a few test rides and see how it goes with your current set up ...

I had no showers at my last job, so I just did the whole wet towel thing with some deodorant ... no smells, no fuss ... My new job has showers and its all good ...

I have been commuting to work for 5 years now and I still get a kick out of watching the silly drivers stuck is traffic as I cruise to work on the bikepath :)

·