Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi. i am a total noob to all kinds of biking. an older family friend gave his old bike to me recently and it's got me thinking that i'd like to have some fun with it.

i know nothing about gear. this is the bike i was given. gt bravado le. the front fork has suspension but otherwise i think everything else is stock. i also have the rigid front fork.

i know it's not the newest and best thing out there. but maybe this bike will open the door for me to become more interested in the hobby? is this an okay place to start? a good bike to still ride, even? everything on it looks mint, i was shocked to find that it was made that long ago because it all looks very gently used. feels great to sit on and cruise around my property.

obviously i need to go through and do some maintenance and i'm not worried about that very much. having the ability to commute short distances would be cool but i have no idea if that would be smart/worth it with this bike.

so basically if anyone cares to comment on whether i got a good deal as a gift or an old POS or some suggestions on getting started here would be great.

·
Dirt Bound
266 Posts
Sounds like a nice rig. Get it a decent tune up and ride.

I don't like to commute on a MTB, but hey, that's just me.

Hook up with the local riders and see if they have a novice ride.

Get a helmet, water and food, a tube and/or patches, and the stuff to fix flats. Even if you don't know how to fix em yourself, perhaps some unwitting fool will happen upon you, take pity and teach you how. I would, unless I was Stravaing. Then I'd be all like STRAAAVVVAAA!!! as I was coming up on you and possibly run you over.

Just have fun out there.

·
Registered
970 Posts
The best bikes are free. However spend a few dollars to have it tuned up. Nothing takes the gun out of a ride like. A bike that doesn't shift or one with brakes that don't work.